Released Monday, April 8, 2002 at 11:10 am EST by Shavaughn Gordon-Moss

Sealy returned as soccer boss for 3rd term


NG Sports Reporter

Membership of the Bahamas Football Association unanimously voted for Anton Sealy to lead them for a third consecutive term at the association’s annual general meeting and election of officers on Saturday.

Grand Bahama Football League president Paul Whitfield, who had challenged Sealy, was a no-show at the elections.

Prior to his return, Sealy had served six years, a two-year term in his first stint, before a constitutional change which gave each president a four-year term.

In the only other voting process to take place, six persons were nominated for five vice-president positions. Incumbents Carl Lynch and Dayne D’Augillar were returned. Voted in were former BFA vice-president Sam Haven, Richard “Dick” Wilson, and Stan Darville who is president of the referee’s association.

GBFL vice-president Eula White was not chosen by the membership.

In the other positions, incumbent executive vice-president Fred Lunn was returned unchallenged. Incumbent general secretary, Lionel Haven was returned unopposed to his paid position. And Pierre LaFleur went in unopposed to the treasurer’s position.

Copyright (c) 2001 by Nassau Guardian