Winners crowned at Tim’s Refrigeration Doubles Tournament

 Home|Sports|Winners crowned at Tim’s Refrigeration Doubles TournamentSports

The Nassau GuardianSend an email16 hours ago 270 1 minute readFacebookTwitterLinkedInShare via Email

 Tim’s Refrigeration Doubles Tournament

According to reports, the 15th Annual Tim’s Refrigeration Eleuthera Doubles Tennis Tournament was a tremendous success, with teams coming from Abaco, New Providence, Spanish Wells, South Eleuthera, and the regular players from Central Eleuthera, including quite a few homeowner residents.

The Bahamas Lawn Tennis Association (BLTA) congratulates Coach Artie Johnson and his team on another successful completion of the tournament.

Organizer of the tournament and recent Hall of Fame Coach Johnson said: “We would like to thank our sponsor Mr. Tim Dames, Ms. Darnette Weir for sponsoring the trophies, and Ms. Barbara Johnson for all of the hard work in putting the cook-out together with help from Sonny-Man and Arthur Bethel and all who donated. We thank you.”

In men’s doubles, Kevin Carey and Charles Rolle defeated Vernon Russell and Macquel McDonald in the championship match.

In the ladies doubles, Cameel McDonald and Chavonnne Reid defeated the team of Tracy Penfound and Michelle Walker in the championship match, and Jennifer Psumpas and Mary Atwood-Culmer won the consolation match.

In mixed doubles, the team of Macquel and Cameel McDonald prevailed over the team of Vernon Russell and Chavonnne Reid in the championship match, and Craig Gibson and Tracy Penfound won the consolation match.

The organizer and tournament director was Coach Artie Johnson and he was assisted by Jackie Percentie, Elva Nixon and Rob Atwood.

The winners of the Brent and Eulona Johnson memorial trophies for the top junior male and female tennis players were Ayia Bethel and Alathea-Lele Psumpas. Johnny Psumpas was the runner-up for the trophy in the junior male category.

“Thanks to all who sponsored the food and also to the live streaming tech team led by Mr. Martin Gator and Carlton Moss,” said Coach Johnson.

The tournament has grown from year to year and Coach Johnson expects continued progression for next year’s event.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *