Athletes Qualify For The Carifta Games

Ken Mullings in action in the long jump.

Ken Mullings in action in the long jump.

Monday, January 29, 2018


#Senior Sports Reporter

#AT least eight athletes, led by repeat performers Tarhji Hudson, Denvaughn Whymms, Anthaya Charlton, Gabrielle Gibson, Raymond Oriakhi and Acacia Astwood, attained the CARIFTA Games standards, while high jumper Jamal Wilson surpassed the mark for the Commonwealth Games at the Club Monica Track Classic held on Saturday.

#It was the third meet for the month and the second straight that athletes have done the qualifying standards for the Games, scheduled for March 30 to April 2, although they will have to wait until the Bahamas Association of Athletic Associations holds its final trials to determine if they make the team or not.

#At the Thomas A Robinson Stadium, Joel Johnson, competing for BSD Juniors, clocked 10.33 seconds to win the under-20 boys’ 100 metres as he attained his qualifying standards of 10.60 in one of the most outstanding performances at the two-day meet.

#Adrian Curry, who just fell short of the standard in the century at the Roadrunners Track Classic the week before, won the under-20 boys’ 200m in 21.24 and was joined by his Club Monica team-mate Denvaughn Whymms, who ran 21.37 as they both dipped under the standard of 21.45.

#It was the third qualifying performance from Whymms, who also ran 13.56 to win the under-20 boys’ 110m hurdles to go under the standard of 14.00. Just last week at the Roadrunners’ meet, Whymms qualified in the long jump. Whymms qualified for all three events in then under-18 division at last year’s games in Willemstad, Curacao where he won the long jump gold, but got injured and was unable to complete the triple.

#Also at the Roadrunners meet, Tarijh Hudson qualified in the under-17 boys discus with 47.81m (156-10). Over the weekend, the Cooper Throwers’ competitor improved on previous performance of by throwing 48.85 (160-3). The qualifying standard is 41.50m (136-2).

#Gabrielle Gibson of the Sunblazers ran 19.96 to go under the standard of 14.00 in the under-20 girls 100m hurdles. She came back over the weekend and almost duplicate the time by winning in 13.97.

#Anthaya Charlton, back home after she (12.03) and Jaide Knowles (11.89) qualified in the under-17 100m at a meet in Jamaica last weekend, dipped under the standard of 12.06 again by winning the straight away race in 12.00.

#Raymond Oriakhi of Club Monica clocked 14.21 in the under-17 boys’ 110m hurdles to surpass the standard of 14.37 at the Roadrunners meet. Over the weekend, lowered his qualifying time to 14.01.

#And Acadia Astwood of the Blue Chip Athletics, who surpassed in the under-20 girls discus at the BAAA’s Odd Distance Meet in December, duplicated her feat with a winning toss of 45.27m (149-6) over the weekend. The qualifying standard is 41.00 (136-4).

#Meanwhile, Jamal Wilson, competing in the men’s high jump for RC Athletics, soared 2.28m (7-5 3/4) to win and match the qualifying mark for the Commonwealth Games, scheduled for April 4-15 in the Gold Coast, Australia. Ryan Ingraham, representing Leap of Faith, returned to action with a second place finish with 2.10m (6-10 3/4).

#In non qualified events, V’Alonee Robinson of the Bahamas Speed Dynamics, was the winner of the women’s 100m in 11.89 and and the 200m in 24.88. Perez Knowles clocked 10.93 for the men’s century title. Bradley Dormeus of Bahamas Speed Dynamics won the open men’s 400m in 50.02.

#The 800m saw Sierra Sears of Fast Forward take the under-17 girls’ race in 2:23.33; Elijah Mitchell, also of Fast Forward, won the under-17 boys’ race in 2:14.51. Maya Miller of the Ambassadors won the under-20 girls’ race in 2:34.76 and Mookie Rolle of Swift Athletics won the under-20 boys’ race in 1:58.73. Tavia Bullard of the University of the Bahamas was the winner of the open women’s two lap race in 2:37.76 and Austin Clarke of BSD Juniors won the open men’s race in 2:02.28.

#Of note in the age group segment, Zara Fraser of Fast Forward sped to a double dose of victory in the under-9 girls’ 100m in 15.41 and the 200 in 32.29. Taevan Saint-Louis of the T-Bird Flyers won the boys’ 100 in 15.72 and Kamron Henfield of Kids’ Athletics took the 200m in 33.07.

#Keimahri Hana of Spirit of Excellence got the girls’ under-11 double in the 100m in 14.96 and the 200m in 29.75. Jaden Clarke of Club Monica took the tape in the boys’ 100 in 13.97 and Kion Burrows of thew Ambassadors walked away with the 200m in 28.36.

#Lanique Thompson, unattached, won the girls’ under-13 race in 13.37 and doubled up in the 200m in 27.23. NiJae McBride of Spirit of Excellence was the winner of the boys’ event in 13.37, but his time of 27.49 was good enough for second in the 200 behind Philip Gray of DTSP Wolfpack, who won in 26.74.

#And Paige Archer of Xtreme Athletics also doubled up as she took the under-15 girls’ 100m in 12.61 and the 200m in 25.85. Club Monica’s Zachary Evans clocked 11.49 for the boys’ title and Otto Laing captured the 200m in 23.70.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *