NPSA names its all-star rosters

 Home|Sports|NPSA names its all-star rostersSports

League reaches its midway point; Stevens expects games to intensify

Simba FrenchSend an emailAugust 25, 2022 226 2 minute readFacebookTwitterLinkedInShare via Email

 The New Providence Softball Association (NPSA) will stage its all-star games this Saturday on the Bankers Field at the Baillou Hills Sporting Complex. The teams have been named. Photo: DANTE CARRER

The New Providence Softball Association (NPSA) has released the rosters for the all-star games which are set for this Saturday on Bankers Field at the Baillou Hills Sporting Complex.

The night will begin with the ladies game that is set for 7 p.m. The men’s game is set to kick off at 9 p.m. Both divisions have been separated into two teams – the President’s and Vice President’s teams.

NPSA President Dwaine Stevens expects a good weekend that includes a back to school initiative by Sunshine Auto Sales.

“It is a weekend where we showcase those persons who have excelled during the course of the season. It is going to be a fun and festive atmosphere. We are expecting a high level of play even though we were off for two years. In the short period of time, our players have been putting in the work to try and get to a higher level. Fans will get to see national team players in action, so it will be fierce,” Stevens said.

Playing for the President’s team on the ladies side are Thela Stevens, Diva Burrows, Sophia Cartwright, Star Jones, Aaliyah Ferguson, Rayven Bethel, Kendalia Turner, Eilayah Johnson, Sheryl Evans, Lashonda Bethel, Iranique Roker, Michesia Davis, Vanessa Sawyer and Charlene Symonette. Richard Bain is the manager and Shayne Albury is the coach.

The Vice President’s team will be represented by Brendia Ferguson, Mia Turner, Vashawna Bastian, Dornette Edwards, Jeanette Hilton, Ciera Bowe, Larikah Russell, Melinda Bastian, Phillisia Major, Tyriece Curry-Davis, Latonia McPhee, Francheska McBride, Brianna Knowles and Shaquel Smith. The team manager is Anthony Bullard and the coach is Bobby ‘Baylor’ Fernander.

“We are looking to push ladies play and they are always fun to watch,” the NPSA president said. “We are trying to push that level of play because we are trying to encourage younger females to get involved in the discipline itself. There are numerous scholarship for young ladies in particular.”

The President’s team on the men’s side consists of Martin Burrows Jr., Angelo Dillet, Garfield Bethel, Natahj Miller, Sherman Ferguson, Tyrique Fowler, Stephen Russell, Lavaughn Ferguson, Chedi Ferguson, Richard Bain, Junel Bain, Lamar Watkins, Charles Major, Anthony Fowler, Winston Seymour and Jerome Wright. Darren Stevens is the manager and Robert Gilbert is the coach.

Representing the Vice President’s team are Thomas Davis, Deon Whyte, Kenneth Curry, Anthony Moss, Chris McPhee, Cardinal Gilbert, Marino Cartwright, Marc Pratt, Dino Sweeting, Canton Chase, Edron Knowles, Dylan Culmer, Rodney Forbes, Angelo Watson, Weymond Demeritte and Preston Clarke. The team manager is Marcus Pratt and Darry Dorsette is the coach.

With the upcoming all-star game, the season is approaching its halfway point. Stevens said that the season has been going well.

“We had our fair share of challenges, such as the weather which forced games to be rescheduled, but we had a steady stream of games. We are at the halfway point now and I am proud of what we have been able to accomplish. We are the only fast pitch softball league that is being played in the archipelago. We have been bringing softball entertainment to our fans,” Stevens said.

He expects some change in the standings in the final half of the season as teams look to make the playoffs.

NPSA action continues tonight with a women’s matchup at 7 p.m. and the men’s game following. The University of The Bahamas (UB) Mingoes will battle the Operators at 7 p.m. The men’s game will feature the Atlantis Titans going up against the Cyber Tech Blue Marlins.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *